What Countries are covered by GDPR?


GDPR stands for General Data Protection Regulation. It is a European Union (EU) Regulation that was accepted on April 27, 2016 and the purpose of GDPR is to strengthen the protection of personal data. In simple words it means the law will lay out rules regulations how organizations will protect the personal data of people residing in the European Union.


Now the common GDPR question that rises in the mind of people is what countries are affected by the GDPR. General Data Protection Regulation came into existence on May 25, 2018.

Organizations that have offices in European Union countries or that collect process and store the personal data of any individual located within any European union country has to follow the guidelines set by General Data Protection Regulation. Any business or agencies that have that even operates or offers services via the Internet have to comply with GDPR.

Although General Data Protection Regulation is a EU regulation but then also non European Union agencies that have their offices in EU countries or collect, store or process the personal data of individuals living in the EU have to comply with GDPR. Physical location of any organization does not get any exceptions from GDPR compliance. 

Personal information or data of those individuals can be transferred only when EU Commission makes sure that it will protected with adequate level of protection.

Countries that are affected by GDPR

Although agencies in many countries are affected by GDPR and every that, that have access to the personal details or data of the person residing in EU countries while trading internationally. The great affect of GDPR is on the countries that in EU itself. The reason behind this is that many EU countries will process the personal details of EU individuals to some reason or other. Still the below is the list of countries that affected by GDPR.

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Bulgaria
  4. Croatia
  5. Republic of Cyprus
  6. Czech Republic
  7. Denmark
  8. Estonia
  9. Finland
  10. France
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. Hungary
  14. Ireland
  15. Italy
  16. Latvia
  17. Lithuania
  18. Luxembourg
  19. Malta
  20. Netherlands
  21. Poland
  22. Portugal
  23. Romania
  24. Slovakia
  25. Slovenia
  26. Spain
  27. Sweden
  28. UK

As the UK will still be a member of the European Union when the GDPR comes into force, GDPR will still be introduced into British law under Clause 3 of the EU Bill.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *